Some people believe that it is good to share as much information as possible in scientific research, business and the academic world. Others believe that some information is too important or too valuable to be shared freely.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Although a growing of people feel that scientific investigation ought to share among people, it is argued by some that these information are more worthwhile to share with others. I personally agree with the former opinion.

On the one hand, a group of people, including me, put forward three main arguments to support the idea that access to the results obtained from scientific experimentation should be free. For one thing, open access publications and data enable researches to carry out collaborative research on a global scale which would lead to dispreading new ideas more rapidly and widely so that act as a motivation for new research studies. Furthermore, open access brings benefit on many different levels. For instance, in medicine, doctors can stay up-to-date with the latest medical information to make the best decision for their patients. Another profit of this policy is that new and functional information in various fields would be available to those people who can not afford the subscription to an expensive journal.

On the other hand, others set out to key reasons why scientific research should not be shared easily. According to these people, the scientists not only would take a long time to accomplish a research in their specialized field but also it put the financial burden on them. That is why it is more valuable than being easily accessible to the public. In addition, it is commonly believed that the increasing access to research articles via the internet is caused some people stealing other’s idea which is called plagiarism. In other words, they use of the copy-and-paste function and taking someone else’s word in order to publish in high-impact journals while researchers make additional effort to produce desired result.

By way of conclusion, I can understand why people might disagree to share the results of scientific experimentation to other people, but it seems to me that open access content would increases people’s knowledge and, consequently improves the quality of life.