Some people believe that nowadays we have too many choices.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Nowadays, we have freedom to choose and make decisions by ourselves. There are so many alternatives available for us that some people claim that it is such a burden to make a choice out of tremendous ways to choose. In my opinion, I agreed with the claim in some situations but, in some circumstances, we are unconsciously limited our options under uncontrollable factors. I will discuss both views and provide supporting examples in this essay.

On the one hand, people have many choices available to choose that sometimes can be troublesome. Thank to the advance trading and transportation network today, it is easy and affordable to buy goods, produced from the opposite side of world. For example, if you walk around a shopping mall in Thailand, you can easily find a fresh melon, grown in Japan, or an exquisite and precious jewelry, imported from Africa. In addition, even when you stay at your house, you can also access websites all over the world to look for the items that you want. This can, sometime, be a dilemma for many shoppers because there are various consideration and comparison, needed to be made, before individuals can choose to buy something.

On the contrary, although it seems that we got various choices, we are unconsciously limited out choices by uncontrollable external factors. Government policies impact our lifestyles implicitly and explicitly. For instance, in Thailand, we got poor public transportation system, which is one of the worst traffic congestion in the world. Even ones want to travel by public transportation services, such as, buses, trains, and taxis, it is impossible to access some areas due to the inefficient transportation network and, inevitably, people have to drive their private cars, worsening the current traffic problem. We, therefore, are forced by other factors not to make a decision which we prefer.

In summary, I believe that we have abundance alternatives in our lives, such as, eating, shopping, studying, and working. In some aspects, however, we are manipulated and influenced unconsciously by others and, most of the time, those hidden forces affect our quality of life. Therefore, we must be aware of these choices and balance them to suit our needs and lifestyles.