In spite of the advances made in agriculture, many people around the world still go hungry.

Why is this the case?

What can be done about this problem?

Why do some developed countries, where food production exceeded domestic consumption, still face the starvation issue? Many experts and economists still cannot figure the ultimate solution for the this problem. Although some argue that the problem caused by the inefficient farming and distribution system, in my opinion, I would say that capitalism is the key of this issue. In this essay, I will discuss and solidify my position as well as propose a recommendation from my point of view.

Obviously, economy plays a big part in indicating how wealth a nation is. Even though impressive nominal figures can lure us to be optimistic on the overall economic progress, they does not reflect the actual living condition of individuals in a country. China, for example, is the country where GDP has been increasing every year, over decades, and most of the world billionaire investors are Chinese businessmen. On the contrary, being excited by the growth, we overlooked many poor suburban Chinese who live in the horrible living condition which we could have never imagined. These people work so hard that they get sick, or some may be injured and become disabled, while they hardly earn enough to make a living. Taken advantages by entrepreneurs, most of the workers around the world still suffer from starvation and cannot afford even basic healthcare services. Capitalism, therefore, causes a big income gap, leading to unfair treatments and lack of equal right to access resources in the society.

In the light of the problem, how can we resolve and improve living conditions of these people? One of the most successful strategy to deal with this problem is the Fair Trade. Fair Trade has been implemented in many countries, such as, Ethiopia, where they suffered from poverty and slave-like treatment by rich investors. The most effective case, for instance, is coffee plantation in Ethiopia. In the past, many Ethiopian farmers overworked the whole day while selling price of their products was hardly covered the cost and manpower in the production processes. However, after people have been aware of this practice, many major coffee houses offered those farmers to buy raw coffee beans from them at fair price, resulting in the better life of Ethiopian. Buying directly or fairly from producers, thus, is one way to alleviate the problem.

In conclusion, starvation will continue endlessly as long as people have not concerned about this issue, regardless how much foods we can produce. Therefore, it is vital that we should take actions to help others and improve our sustainable community for everyone.