Some people believe that there should be fixed punishment for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment.

Discuss both of these two views and give your own opinion.

It is considered by some people that for specific type of crime, there ought to be a respective punishments to executed,\ while there are others who thinks that it is better to hand down punishment with the analysis of criminal’s motive as well as the context of an individual crime. I believe that the punishment should be carefully consider for every cases before the court impose the sentence upon criminals.

The idea that there are fixed punishment for each type of crime does have its merits. The general idea is knowing the punishment beforehand would deter people with intention to commit crime. For example, if the authorities put capital punishment on homicide, the fear of death might stop people from murdering. Besides that, fixed punishments show that crime is not tolerated. The drawback of this option is that reality and theory is not always the same. It can be quite difficult to excise law on real scenario.

The alternative suggestion of take circumstances of crime and motive into account seems more likely to be effective in practice. Many judges consider that this idea would create a more humane system as well as fair trial. Firstly, in various case, the person who committed murder is mentally ill, therefore he or she cannot be grouped into the same category of others type of homicide. Secondly, there is a distinctive between killing for the purpose of defend and killing to revenge. As a resulted, taking circumstances into judging would efficiently remove false conviction in trial.

In conclusion, despite many benefits of fixed punishments, it seem to me that each crime should be judged taking both circumstances and motivation into account.