Some people believe that there should be a fixed punishment for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment.

Punishment for crime is an important thing in a society, because every crime usually harm people or people's belongings. However there is an issue in giving punishment for crimes. Some people agree that fixed punishment must be placed for every crime without considering background of reasons of the crime. Somehow, there is an contradiction to this opinion, that each punishment has to consider the motive of each person. This essay will discuss both of view and outline my outlook.

In one hand, fixed punishment gives an easy work for law department to establish the penalty for criminals. Also, it will reduce fraud in processing the result of law process. This is because there is no consideration from external things, constitution is only one item in considering a punishment to a person.

In other hand, sameness does not always bring justice. a motive must be considered in setting up a rule, for instance there are two cases of stealing a chicken. First case, a thief steals chicken to buy alcohol, the second one the thief steals a chicken to feed his family that do not eat for 3 days. The motive must be considered, because a law needs to contain education to bring a better life for people. If both of case are placed in the same level so, in the next time, people will focus in stealing chicken not the purpose of the law. But, if we make difference between those cases, for example the first situation receive worse penalty than first one, because the motive behind the crime does not worth to steal chicken. But the second one has the deeper meaning. Although we still cannot say that stealing chicken is right, we can see many view from the last case such as a poverty, of a certain country. Therefore, there is another thing that government needs to do hard, because it must protect its people from crime and poverty and gives them a justice by law.

Overall I personally believe that a country must placed a law under a justice, and considering a motive behind a crime is more fair than does not take it into account.