Some people feel that entertainers such as film stars, pop musicians or sports stars are paid too much money.

Do you agree or disagree?

Which other types of job should be highly paid?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is often argued that the individuals working in the entertainment industry such as film actors, singers, and musicians, or even sports players are too much highly paid. Whereas, there are various other professions that require a much more complex skillset. In my opinion, I completely agree with this statement that the entertainment stars are too much highly paid with respect to the skillset they possess.

It is true that the entertainment industry is booming and making billions of dollars. But if we analyze it properly it is simply overvalued. Here all the stars, actors, or players are paid on the basis of fame they possess or the craze about them in youngsters, which I believe is totally unfair. What is fairer, all of them must be paid on the basis of the quality of skillset they possess. For instance, if a new actor or player is about to enter the industry, he/she will always be highly paid. Neither that person is eminent nor tested for the skillset he/she possesses in the real world. Then why are they paid too much? Instead, people working in making them shine in front of the audience should be paid a handsome amount. Just as in the case of international or national-level sports, coaches or co-workers must also be highly paid.

There are numerous other professions as well, which clearly entails a huge skillset, technical knowledge, and an intellectual mindset. Acquiring these kinds of skills requires years of training, study, competition, research, and hard work. For instance, being a doctor is a marvelous profession as this person is even able to save lives sometimes. A scientist provides new findings to humankind which in turn ables us to advance in the technologies further. A soldier, the profession of this person is restless, he took an oath to protect his country, even if it is at the expense of his own life. A laboring man, the hard work requires for this profession is unmatchable. All these professions really need to be recognized and valued.

Weighing up both sides of the argument, I completely agree that there is a myriad of professions out there that needs to be paid a handsome amount, in contrast to this salaries paid in the entertainment industry need to be regulated based on the skill set an individual possesses.