Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, people all over the world have to face the dilemma of several environmental problems due to the urbanization and the industrial revolution. Many people believe that the extinction of wild animals is the biggest burden on humanity. However, I would argue that there are still a lot of serious problems that we have to solve.

On the one hand, many species of animals are likely to completely disappear because of the negative effects of the social development. They are illegally hunted to satisfy the higher demand of consumption. Besides, deforestation spoils their natural habitats and results in a lot of consequences especially ecological imbalance. This situation will have direct influence on the survival as well as the growth of other animals.

On the other hand, it is inevitable that people still have to face a lot of environmental problems. For example, the increase of gases in the atmosphere causes greenhouse effects and this phenomenon is the key factor influencing the change of temperature which is called "global warming". It can result in ice melting in Polar areas and so that makes animals lose their home. Apart from the practical concern expressed above, ice melting also cause the rising of sea level and therefore, many countries are likely to disappear in the near future. Furthermore, the emission from transportation means such as motorbikes or cars takes a leading role in causing air pollution, which can create acid rains and make people get serious diseases such as lung cancer.

In conclusion, I think that the extinction of wild animals is just a part of the environmental catastrophe that human has to face these days. We should take more measures to prevent our world from being more polluted to save animals and save our life as well.