“Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems.” Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is considered by some people that the extinction of some plants and animals lead to the main problem of our environment in recent years, while others deem that there are more dangerous concerns. This essay will look at these views before a reasonable conclusion is given.

On the one hand, the continual loss of plants and animals is believed to be the most concerns because of its impacts. Plants and animals underpin our life on Earth, they provide a huge amount of oxygen and food, as well as making up the backbone of the world’s ecosystems. For example, the predators in the food chain cannot feed themselves when their quarries have no longer existed. The extinction of some species will likely have a domino effect on the fragile ecosystems of the Earth. Species diversity ensures resilience; consequently, the lack of it has a vastly impact on our existence.

On the other hand, there are undisputed facts about humans' habitat today, which has been directly caused by other problems such as air pollution, climate change, and global warming...The evidence of these issues are there for us all to see: According to the World Health Organization, the very air we breathe is growing dangerously polluted: nine out of ten people now breathe polluted air, which kills 7 million people every year; the rising sea levels are drastically changing the landscape of what we already know, leading to the disappearance of large land areas and even some countries. We should not underestimate these vital problems and need immediate solutions to address this.

In conclusion, both these points of views have their own reasons. Nevertheless, I still personally believe that we need to give short-term and long-term resolutions for the higher properties’ issues.