Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some people argue that the paramount problem for the environment is the extinction of particular kinds of animals and plants, while others say that there are more essential issues. I strongly agree that the disappearance of species is not the foremost problem.

On the one hand, the loss of species may jeopardize the local biodiversity and bio balance. If an animal in the food chain cease to exist, other members of the chain may end up in danger of a decline in the number. In turn, such an event could trigger others food chains in a region because chains are related to each other. An avalance occur, perpetrating the bio balance and harming the biodiversity. The example of such a disaster is one island in the Pacific, where poachers killed local cats for fur. Not the island has no life because after the killing of all cats the rats ate all vegetation and every animal died of starvation.

On the other hand, pollution and the contraction of living space for the wildlife jeopardize flora and fauna a lot. As cities grow, more and more toxic waste is produced, as well as more wilderness is populated leaving no room for animals. Consequently, particular kinds of animals become endangered or extinct, and one has all problems mentioned above. For instance, the deforestation in the basin of the river Amazon, which caused extinction of thousands of types of animals and plants, was initiated because of overpopulated towns in Brazil (the cities demanded the expansion). So, pollution and lack of space might be the very reason for species liss and must be tackled or alleviated.

In conclusion, even though the protection of species is vital for biodiversity and bio balance, there are issues which can cause species' extinction, like pollution or contradiction of living space for flora and fauna. These issues are more essential.