Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Extinction is said to be the most crucial environmental problem of our generation, others says there are more essential environmental problems that need to be tackle. It seems that although extinction is an important issue, it is not as important as other problems.

Some people suggest that extinction of species is an incredibly important problem and needs to be tackled as soon as possible. These people claim that if a specific type of predator gets extinct, it will change our whole food chain and will effect its prays the most, making them more than they used to be. These people, however, do not see the fact that a pray does not have just one predator so after extinction of that particular type of animal, another animal can hunt prays and control their population. Another effect of losing species is loss of biodiversity which have a immense influence on us. We cannot imagine our life without the help of cats on the streets that hunt mice. So it is important to have all kind of animals in our environment if we want to have a stabilized one.

Although extinction is one of the most vital challenges of environmentalists, there are other looming aspect of environmental issues that threat us. To illustrate, excessive use of fossil fuels is one of the setbacks that we are challenged by. The usage of carbon-based fuels can result in pollution and can later on be an underlying reason of global warming. This is just one of our many environmental problems. If we want to save planets we should change our lifestyle and use renewable energies more than before. Only in this way can we continue living on this planet.

We should not lose sight of the fact that loss of animals is an important issue, but there are other issues that affect our lives profoundly. In my opinion, if we wanted to prioritize tackling these problems, extinction would not come first on the list.