Some people say that the only reason for learning foreign language is in order to travel or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reason why someone should learn a foreign language

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some people believe that the reason for learning a new language is to work or go oversea while the others don’t think so. This eassay will discuss both these views and personally, i think we have many motivations to study a foreign language.

There are several reason why many people argue that work or travel abroad is the only reason for learning a second languages. Firstly, improve the languages of another country is the only way to overcome the language barrier in order to visit or work in a strange country. Although technology develop with a amazing speed today with so many useful translate software but it is necessary for us to use local languages to communicate with local residents. As a result, if we can’t speak or able to understand what local people say, it will be difficult to live or travel in abroad. In addition, every countries set the bar of languages to people who want to be a migrant labour or a foregin student. For example, Canada or Australia require at least 5.0 point Ielts for student who wanna join an university in their countries, in comparision with USA is the minium of 61 TOEFL IBT. Due to some arguments, it can be clearly seen that, learning a foreign language is very improtant to move to a new country.

In spite of the above reasons, I hold a belief that we have than one reason to study a second languages. A strong argument in favour of studies a new language is to understand another culture. The best solution to research about traditional culture of every nation is to understand their mother language. Thus, we can figure it out their history, their foods, their tourist attraction through their stories or by what local people say about their life. Meanwhile, to be an international resident, learning a second language help us make friend with every people from all over world instead just of our nation. Learning English the most common language in the world is an example, if you are able to speak and understand what a person say in English , you will have many chance to get closer with them. Moreover, learning another language can help us enjoy their entertainment production like films, musics or their art. In order to enjoy a novel or a films, the original is the best version because when we use translate version is mean we understand through another person view, we may not able to understand all the meaning of the author. Due to those metrits, people may realize that there are many advantages when they know another language and find some motivations to start.

In conclusion, study a new language is the obligatory condition to travel or work in a foreign country but can gain more benefit when we know a second language so that we have many reason to try our best to learn one.