Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Learning a foreign language has many advantages including the better understanding of a different culture, better job prospect, faster cognitive development, efficient communication and so on. While some people believe that only reason we should learn a foreign language is to visit or work in a foreign country, many others opine that the benefits of learning a different language are not restricted on the job and travel prospects only. This essay delves with the both point of views.

On one hand, it is quite natural that people want to learn a foreign language only to be able to communicate people who speak this language. Thus a large number of people learn foreign languages like English, French, German, Spanish, Russian and Arabic either to visit/migrate or find jobs in countries where people use these languages. From this regards it seems quite logical that visiting a country, migrating there or working there are the main reasons people learn a language. It is evident from the natural trend of learning a new language among people in my own country. Here a majority of people learn English and Spanish while almost none learn Russian and migration and job prospects are the reason that has established this trend, I believe.

On the contrary, research indicates that cognitive developments happen faster among children who learn a second language than those who do not. Furthermore, learning a second language is mandatory in an academic syllabus and this helps us understand diverse cultural and traditional aspects. People who know more languages are capable of reading more books, and understanding the lifestyle of different nationalities. Again, learning a foreign language helps us making new friends. Thus it is evident that learning a foreign language has many other benefits as well.

In conclusion, there is no denying the fact that people primarily learn a foreign language to travel or work a different country. But it is quite evident that there are far many advantages of learning a foreign language than to work or migrate to a country.