Some people think that the governments should invest in teaching science rather than in other subjects for a country’s development and progress. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is sometimes argued that governments around the world need to put more money on education which involves in science in order to develop their countries. While scientific education is important for a nation’s development, I disagree that investing only in teaching science is enough.

There are several reasons why people think the governments should focus on teaching science. Firstly, since technology has become more advanced for the past decades in every occupation, countries’ leaders need more science products or innovation if they do not want to be left behind by other nations. Therefore, it is a good idea to invest in education of science to meet governments’ future goals. Secondly, there is a majority of population that intends to take science classes when enrolling in colleges or universities. Because of such tendency, governments have to put money on science to meet the demands of the residents.

However, teaching science is not the only way to prosper nations’ success. Instead, there are some other subjects that need the leaders’ attention. The economy of a country is based on international trading which requires people with good social and communication skills. Such abilities can be taught in language classes. Consequently, investing in these classes will provide more excellent people in trading field which eventually brings profit to the country. In addition, military is another aspect that governments need to focus on. In order to form strong armies, countries’ leaders may want to put their money on physical exercise subjects in schools so that they can have more healthy and strong people in the line-ups.

In conclusion, while science has caught more attention from the governments, I believe sharing budget to other subjects is also helping the countries’ development and progress.