Some people think that instead of preventing climate change, we need to find a way to live with it. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Adapting to climate change rather than finding a solution to it is what some people believe in. A big part of evolution comes with adapting to the environment but eventually, there will come a point where this belief won't be very helpful. I do not agree with it instead, there is a dire need to prevent climate change.

First of all, the current change of the climate is not a natural phenomenon but a man-made one. The constant urbanization and deforestation of the landscape play a vital role in the increase of carbon footprint in the environment which directly leads to global warming. However, with fewer trees, all the carbon released is not converted into oxygen which is important for human survival. The very fact of the change not being natural is sufficient to say that we need to find solutions to the problems we are creating.

Secondly, adaptation to the climate is only good up to a certain point, after that, it is almost impossible. For example, Mammoths used to reside in places where there is extreme cold. These mammals evolved themselves from being huge in size and very thick fur to reducing the fur and the size in a few millennia according to the change in the temperature. After a few evolutions, it was not further evolution was not possible and finally, the species is extinct today. Like Mammoths, there are many other species who found a way to live with their respective climate changes but failed to survive after a threshold.

In conclusion, I would reiterate the statement that finding ways to prevent climate change is far more beneficial than living with it as the change is man-made and also there is always a limit to everything as in the case of evolution.