Some people think that men and women have different qualities. Therefore, some certain jobs are suitable for men and some jobs are suitable for women. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is thought that there are different occupations that are appropriate for males and females because of their distinct physical and mental strength. While I agree that men and women have their own individual qualities, I believe that there should not be gender discrimination in employment.

On the one hand, I think that men and women have some distinct characteristics which affect the range of jobs open to them and which traditionally affect their choice of career. As for men, they are strong and decisive, so they are exceptionally suitable for jobs that require tremendous physical strength and agility such as soldiers, workers, and so on. Meanwhile, women tend to favor caring professions because they are kind-hearted and patient. Therefore, they usually take responsibility for nursing, childraising, and taking care of the elderly.

On the other hand, I believe that males and females should have equal opportunities in all careers. The first reason is that women are showing great versatility in various jobs, even those demanding both brains and brawn. They now have equal educational opportunities in many societies and have a chance to go to the gymnasiums to improve their strength, which makes them qualified to undertake the same jobs as men. Besides, men are becoming more responsible for childcare and domestic chores. Moreover, modern views have broken the traditional barriers, which effectively barred men and women from doing certain jobs in the past. Therefore, males and females can do each other’s jobs.

In conclusion, I believe that men and women have different characteristics; however, sex discrimination at work is not tolerated as much as in the past. I myself welcome this change and look forward to the continuation of the trend.