some people think schools should only teach students academic subjects. Others think schools should also teach students how to discriminate between right and wrong. Discuss both views and state your own opinion.

People's opinions differ as to whether teachers should guide students to be ethical people. From the perspective of the goal of education, I believe it's essential that students got both academic and moral education in school.

Some argued that teachers' first priority is fully unlocking students' intellectual potential. To do that, teachers should concentrate on preparing and executing well-rounded teaching plans. Advancing the professional skillset with cutting-edge technology could be a plus point, but the moral part of education should be left at home. While academic knowledge might be helpful to do things right, it cannot tell students what the right thing to do. It is the latter that determines the essential quality of a person. Without guidance on moral judgment, a highly educated criminal could do devastating harm to society.

Another reason is that due to the sheer amount of time that students spend in school, guiding students to distinguish right from wrong is inevitable in the interaction between students and teachers. For example, problems like what is the right thing to do when a student finds a classmate plagiarize in the test and how to be a responsible person in a sports team are quite common in school. Teachers must also function as counselors to guide students to address those troubles.

Besides, given that the economic and educational status of parents is so different, there is no way most students could be guaranteed a proper ethical education. Some parents may lack the necessary knowledge or adequate communication skills. Others may be too busy to help their child with ethical dilemmas. Under those circumstances, teachers with years experience in help students couple problems could be a better mentor.

In conclusion, in terms of practical elements in school, teachers should guide students on ethical problems.