some people think schools should only teach students academic subjects. Others think schools should also teach students how to discriminate between right and wrong. Discuss both views and state your own opinion.

People have different views on whether teachers should take part in ethical education. In terms of teaching practice, I believe it's crucial that students got both academic and moral education in school.

Some argued that teachers' first priority is fully unlocking students' intellectual potential. To do that, teachers should concentrate on preparing and executing well-rounded teaching plans. Advancing the professional skillset with cutting-edge technology could be a plus point, but the moral part of education should be left at home. While academic knowledge might be helpful to do things right, it cannot tell students what the right thing to do. It is the latter that determines the essential quality of a person. Without guidance on moral judgment, a highly educated criminal could do devastating harm to society.

Besides, due to the sheer amount of time students spend in school, ethical guidance is inevitable. Teachers are highly involved in activities like ruling, mediating, punishing, and rewarding, all of which are morally concerned. For example, problems like what is the right thing to do when they find classmates plagiarize in the test are quite common in school.

And from the perspective of individual circumstances, the economic and educational status of parents can be so dramatically different that fulfilled moral development is far from guaranteed. Some parents may lack adequate skill set like communication skills to teach. Others may be too busy to help their children with ethical issues. In contrast, a teacher with professional qualifications is more competent to be a moral mentor.

In conclusion, in addition to ensuring academic success, teachers must also function as counselors to guide students out of ethical dilemmas.