Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged. Others believe that children who are taught to co-operate rather than compete become more useful adults.

The question of whether to instill a sense of competition or collaboration into children, as so many parents are struggling with fostering them. There are valid arguments on both sides, which I will elucidate in this essay.

On the one hand, those who support the competition approach promote the idea that it would be a crucial driving force behind young children's progress. They point to evidence from sports that athletics would perform outstandingly if they rivaled their opponents for a champion. Furthermore, proponents of the sense of competition are able to cite an example from the prestigious schools' admission where all students devote themselves in their study, particularly their grades. This may appear to incentive children to overcome the existing stumbling blocks in the future. To the supporters of the idea, these benefits are convincing.

However, opponents point out, either at school or in society, that teamwork or collaboration would enhance significantly children's assistance with each other. In these cases, students work together in small clusters or groups and thus have a feeling of the connection with other members of these groups, leading to the support such as homework or solving problems, to accomplish a common goal. As a result, not only it surges the teamwork skills among student, but also it enables to exercise their communication skills, with much of their learning being involved in face-to-face interaction. Moreover, opponents of co-operation also highlight personal productivity in a team. Examples can be seen that people in a group is assigned in particular tasks which are matched closely his or her strengths, expertise and aptitudes, increasing efficiency of team works. This argument also appears to be quite powerful.

Overall, I would tend to advocate the 'co-operation method'. It seems to be that children from an early age would be vulnerable if fierce competition transpired in their life. It would be more practical to instill the collaboration first for young children, which encourages them to assist each other and gain interpersonal skills.