Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold. To what extent do you agree and disagree?

It is suggested that commercial advertisement has become an influential factor that motivates people buying unnecessary commodities. This essay will explain why I partly disagree with this statement and believe people in most time purchase things what they need.

On the one hand, it is quite common these days for individuals to follow the commercial buying things since advertisement has become the biggest channel of merchants promoting their products. Research, relating to people’s consumption behaviour, has highlighted that advertising can stimulate consumers to make more purchase by highlighting individual product’s unique features. This could be proved by the fact that sales of Apple products often surged after their prompting events. Besides, the increasing numbers of unopened goods displayed on the resale website unveil more and more people ordering unnecessary commodities online under the impulsive emotion.

On the other hand, I think the real needs still the biggest motivation for people spending money. It is true that people nowadays knowing the product’s information from advertisement, for example, they may select furniture by glancing different brochures. However, advertisement is just a way for people to approach goods, not the root cause underlying their purchase. If the product cannot meet one’s demand, even the giant such as Nokia, which is the pioneer of cellphone makers, could fail no matter how many ads they made. In addition, the sales of popular goods not only increased in cities but also in the poverty area where its habitats not often exposed to commercials.

To conclude, although advertising changes our lives and has become the most significant tool for people to get to know commodities, people still buy things according to their needs.