Volunteer work organised by middle schools brings more benefits than problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Volunteer work has been promoted in many schools and has even been listed as one of the requirements for graduation. Although voluntary work has some downsides, I would like to argue that it is of great value to both the participants and the whole community.

First of all, students can develop positive qualities by taking part in community services. They will be confronted with many problems and challenges while doing community works, which are rarely seen at school. For example, to raise funds for charity organizations, they have to learn about how to communicate with benefactors, how to organize activities, and how to cooperate with others. These experiences will boost their confidence and improve their problem-solving skills.

At the same time, the younger generation can gain a sense of responsibility and acquire an understanding of how to contribute to the community from community work. They will acquire a sense of community because they know their work can make a positive difference for those needy members in society. For instance, by assisting children from poor homes in the study, middle school students can feel that helping others receive education can make a fairer and happier society, which is beneficial for us to build a close-knit community.

However, we cannot rule out the possibility that sometimes community services can turn out to be a wasteful use of volunteers’ energy and time if they are not carefully planned. Voluntary work can be dull and hectic, rather than a rewarding experience with educational value. As a consequence, participants would not be willing to devote their time as they cannot see the value of their work. Or, they may think that volunteer work takes away their study time and interferes with their study. But if we think it another way, students can learn to manage their time because of their tight schedule.

All in all, my view is that volunteer work is of great significance for students’ skills and job prospects, as well as the social progress, provided that schools can make sure that the work satisfies students’ needs.