You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Present a written argument or case to an educated reader with no specialist knowledge of the following topic.

Many childhood diseases can now be prevented through the use of vaccines.

Should parents be made by law to immunise their children against common diseases or should individuals have the right to choose not to immunise their children?

You should use your own ideas, knowledge and experience and support your arguments with examples and relevant evidence.

You should write at least 250 words.

Vaccination for children is widely implemented in our society in order to prevent childhood diseases and to decrease the mortality rate caused by serious health problems. It is often argued that parents should be mandated by law to complete the vaccination of their children against common diseases and if parents should have the right to choose whether they like it or not for their children to be vaccinated regardless of their knowledge about certain vaccines.

I believe that the right for prevention of diseases through vaccination in order to maintain health and fight diseases is important for everyone especially for children. However, it is every one’s right to know the right information, disease process, and the effect of vaccines that can be given to their child. In line with this, I believe that everyone must have the freedom to choose whether they want their child to be vaccinated or not but must be allowed only by law if they understand the risk and consequences of refusing a vaccine. For example, health clinics must first educate the parents on what vaccines do child needs in order to prevent future diseases and its side effects. Moreover, if the health teachings are clear, parents will automatically let their children be vaccinated but still with their own will.

The law is trying their best in order to minimize mortality rates for young children through the help of the vaccines and because of this many vaccines are developed in the laboratory for experimentation of its effectivity. One reason why parents refused their child to be vaccinated is the lack of confidence with the law because of certain issues that happened in the past. For example, the issue regarding the dengvaxia vaccine which killed hundreds of children in the Philippines because of some errors made by the government. We all know that the government wants a positive outcome for developing such vaccine in order to minimize dengue but unexpected circumstances happened. Because of the incident, parents become very cautious and afraidfor their child to be vaccinated.