Do you think the advantages of charging people for admission to museums outweigh the disadvantages?

In some museums visitors have to pay a fee for admission. Below some advantages and disadvantages of this approach will be discussed.

To begin with, idea of taking money for visiting has many merits but probably the most obvious will be that artists and museums have a possibility to finance their activities. In this case, artists may be truly independent from constrains that could be imposed by sponsors. Moreover, some believe that those who pay for admission will be appreciating the art work more deeply and more thoughtfully because act of paying will likely motivate them to try to get something out of the purchased visit.

However, all pros are balanced by some cons and some individuals, in particular, those who do not have a stable income may not be able to see the masterpieces that are exhibited for money. Consequently, many of those who might have enjoyed the arts will be deprived of it. Moreover, pupils and students who perhaps may get the most benefits out of visiting museums may not have enough finances as well. Those are a few disadvantages that should be mentioned.

Finally, in my opinion neither option is perfect and only balanced approach when adults are charged a full price and children, young people and elderly are allowed inside for free or for an insignificant fee seems to have no conspicuous drawbacks but preserves all mentioned merits. For instance, Moscow National Art Museum that is situated near the Kremlin charges one thousand and five hundred rubles per person. This amount is relatively large for an average Russian, but only adults and foreigners pay the full fee whereas pupils, college and university students as well as senior citizens may enjoy the exhibition without paying because Russian government subsidizes their tickets. As a result, the museum has still been making money to be relatively independent and those who cannot pay for themselves have still visited it.

To sum up, neither policy is perfect but combination of both may get all advantages without disadvantages.