Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful, others disagree. Discuss both the views and give your own opinion.

Many companies occasionally ask job seekers personal details, such as marital status, what they do in their leisure time, any interests in music, dance, etc. Several people believe that these details are vital, it helps to understand the employee external skills whereas others disagree because for them it is not going to bring any values to work. I strongly agree on the former statement. This essay will discuss the both merits and demerits of why employer is gathering employee personal details. Following this, reasoned conclusion will be shared.

First and foremost, employee is the key resource for any organization success. Every single person contribution and dedication towards the work is important for company's growth and development. Apart from regular job responsibilities, employer’s are more focused on building team activities. Furthermore, they believe this offers tremendous productivity in terms of work rather than just inclined with work. This is the vital reason why they want to learn and know their employee hobbies, so that they can plan group activities based on their interests and it has provided fruitful results

On the other side, some startup organization just focus on work instead of wasting their time to getting the personal details for their workers. Additionally, this type of organization they don’t bother about employees personal growth or life rather more inclined towards the work. . To exemplify, a well know magazine done many surveys on team building events and the results shows that 80% of new startup’s projects failed because of not being friendly and not adopting the team building games.

To sum up, over the period many successful organization changed the working style which has provided huge achievements it is due to understanding the employee strengths, weakness and their interests