Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful, others disagree. Discuss both the views

People have to fill lots of personal information while applying for jobs in companies. Some people believe that personal data is useful for employer to analyze the person while other believe that personal data should not be asked by the companies. I shall explain both views in essay.

On the one hand, asking personal information by employer and use it for various purposes has become trend now. Employers think that more information they have about employee, better they can make the workplace for individuals. Thus, information is collected in planned physiological manner and it helps employer to find out more potentials, peculiar habits etc. in employee. For instance, global consultancy company prize water cooper collect the information such as marital status, favorite past-time and so on which give input to company to design work-life and reward system. In addition, by obtaining employee’s information, employers not only create the bonding but also formulate the facilities plan such as health insurance, club membership etc. which are used by the family members as well.

On the other hand, people find this pattern very disturbing and intrusion in personal life. Firstly, may instance were found in the past where organization sold the data for own benefit causing damage to employee’s reputation. Furthermore, sometimes organization do not have policies to protect the personal data, resulting, data is exposed to outside world for their disposal. For example, online dating site got the martial status of employee and use this information to connect to them for motivating to join online dating site. Also, terrorist organizations do not hesitate to contact to person who has religion interests and try to mislead such people.

In conclusion, collecting personal information may be utilized by employer for benefit of employees, but, if information is not protected and somehow leaked to outside, it could harm the person.