Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Job seekers these days are occasionally being asked to furbish personal data such as their leisure activities, preferences, marital status and interests. Few people are of the opinion that extracting such information could be beneficial on the contrary some people do not agree with it. In this essay, I will succinctly discuss both point of views and will present my opinion.

Owing to the technological advancements and latest researches in social sciences public and private companies are now investing largely in developing proper human resource and organizational development departments. Advocates of human resource believe that, private information about one’s medical conditions, marital status, preferences, or interests helps companies in facilitating its employees in the short and long-run. For instance, group insurance policy of a company covers majority of the medical related needs of its employees and their families such as OPD, maternity cost, surgery or a bypass. Additionally, if employee will not show his/her marital status he/she will not be entitled to an extended family related insurance benefits. Moreover, employee’s hobbies, interest or preferences are an important part of a psychometric testing that helps recruiters in deciding right department or training course for the employee. Another example is armed forces where an applicant is required by law to disclose all his/her personal information as this helps psychologists in armed forces to better analyze and understand applicant’s personality. For instance, a person who is more interested in video games and less interested in outdoor activities is likely to get a job in armed forces because of the physically demanding nature of a job.

On the contrary, few people disagree with this notion, as they believe companies use candidate’s private information to target them for their vested interests such as, tracking a person’s interest or hobbies will possibly flood his email box or internet surfing or social media accounts with unwanted marketing and sales campaign. Such confidential data has sometime been sold to other companies in the form of sales lead which is then used by shabby companies for scams or illegal activities. For instance, Facebook recently face huge public backlash due to leaking private data of its users to Russia during US presidential elections.

In my opinion, I believe that private data such as number of siblings, marital status, interests or hobbies is important for employers if used in the well-being of employees. It is important to understand that data privacy is an important issue in today’s world and should be protected under law. Proper legislation is required to force institutions whether state or private to abide by the data protection laws and strict penalties should be imposed in-case of violation.

In conclusion, companies should take a great care while dealing with employees private data and make sure data is effectively used in the welfare of its people and proper confidentiality should be maintained .