The growing number of overweight people is putting a strain on the health care system. Some people think that the best way to deal with this problem is to introduce more physical education lessons in school curriculum. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, poor dietary habits and lack of physical exercise have made people prone to several diseases especially obesity. This, in turn, has put forward several challenges to the health care system of the country. Many believe that this can be effectively tackled if physical education is given more importance in schools, I completely accord with this view and in my below essay I will elaborate my opinion with examples.

Firstly, schools play a key role in the development of a child. The lessons they learn in school, remain with them throughout their lives. Having physical education as a compulsory part of the syllabus, provokes children to exercise regularly. Eventually, they start considering it as an essential part of their daily activities. To illustrate, in Japan physical training is a mandatory subject in schools, failing which may result in poor grades. As a result, this reduces the risk of obesity in children and consequently leads to a healthier future.

Secondly, to encourage these children, their parents also end up getting involved in physical exercises. Not only do they get involved with them, but also, they make it an essential part of their day-to-day routine. For example, parents of those children who take up sports as one of their subjects, usually can be seen practicing along with them, this slowly and steadily increases their interest in sports. Moreover, because of this the parents also start living a healthier and fitter life, and eventually do not fall prey to obesity.

In conclusion, having sports or physical education as a subject in school encourages pupils to exercise daily and even gets their parents involved as well. This somehow eliminates the risk of increasing weight. T<span style="font-size:11.0pt;line-height:107%;

font-family:&quot;Lucida Sans Unicode&quot;,sans-serif;mso-fareast-font-family:Calibri;

mso-fareast-theme-font:minor-latin;color:black;mso-themecolor:text1;mso-ansi-language:

EN-US;mso-fareast-language:EN-US;mso-bidi-language:AR-SA">his eliminates the risk of increasing weight to an extent, as this habit gets imbibed in both