The increase in mobile phone use in recent years has transformed the way we live, communicate and do business. Mobile phones can also be the cause of social or medical problems. What forms do these problems take?

Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages of mobile phones?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Use of mobile phones has exponentially grown over the years & it has changed our lives, our communication & the way we conduct business. With positives, comes the negatives and so does with mobile phones. They are causing social & medical problems. Below we will discuss advantages & disadvantages of mobile phones.

Using mobile phones, we constantly stay in touch with our loved ones. Availability is on the go & a person can be reached at any moment. Few days back, while I was at gym, my wife informed me over my cellphone about her delayed flight & new pickup time. If there wasn’t any mobile, I would have kept waiting for her.

Mobile phones have also transformed businesses. One can track his/her investments on mobile phones in real-time & can make informed decisions. The other day, at a restaurant, I watched a news of a tech company launching a new software. I immediately called my broker and bought its stocks. Within no time, its stock prices sky-rocketed & I made good money.

If not managed well, there are downsides to everything. Using mobile phones while driving are major reasons for accidents these days. It is resulting not only in life-long medical problems but in few cases taking away precious lifes.

There are numerous social problems also associated with mobile phones. Nowadays, kids spend most of their time playing games on mobiles & are not interacting or playing with other kids resulting in social isolation.

Although use of mobile phones have certain problems but the way it has transformed everything outweighs the disadvantages.