It is generally believed that some people are born with certain talents, for instance for sport or music, and others are not. However, it is sometimes claimed that any child can be taught to become a good sports person or musician. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Each person is unique in this world and has a special skill. Some believe that people are exceptionally skilled by birth in a sport or music, while others believe that with proper training, anyone can manage to acquire such abilities. I will discuss both these arguments in this essay and explain how a structured training program will help anyone to achieve expertise in a game or music.

Human brain is extremely complex and neurologists have managed to understand it’s functions to some extent. According to them, each part of the brain is responsible for a specific talent: A well-developed right hemisphere increases one’s analytical ability whereas the other well-developed half influences artistic powers. A team of doctors from the University of California recently carried out a research on a large numbers of musicians, singers and sports personalities to prove it; however, no concrete evidence has been established to support their theory. Therefore, it can be understood that people does not acquire a special talent when they are born.

Contrary to the above idea, many would argue that if proper coaching is given to children, tailored to suit their individual interests, any child can develop necessary knowledge and the ability to excel in a sport or in the field of music. For instance, Desmond Jones, an American singer, was born in a family of highly educated intellectuals but, was not good at academics. His parents engaged a singer to train him for about five years and he has become a renowned singer in the USA when he grew up.

To summarize, some may argue that children are born with special skills whereas, I believe that anyone can achieve excellence in a specific area if they were given professional training.