It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

what sort of punishments should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behavior to children?

Early age is a critical stage of life to learn the right and ethical moral. For this purpose, some believe that it is mandatory to punish a child whenever they fail to do so. However, I completely disagree with this assertion and believe that punishing a child can put many adverse effects on their delicate minds and growing bodies. Instead, parents and teachers should endorse new ways of teaching about right and wrong to a child.

To begin with, today's competitive world is already challenging children to be perfect in every sphere of life, and they need the full support of their families and teachers to go through this tender stage. Imposing any physical and mental punishment can leave them with life-long injuries or bruises and can lower their confidence level as well. Also, they can suffer from depression and anxiety. Additionally, this can severely affect the children relationship with their parents and teachers. From the personal experience, having faced the physical and mental punishments has not only made an introvert person but has compelled me not to be on good terms of my family and teachers.

Nevertheless, there are very effective ways that can be conducted by teachers and parents to teach young learners' to realise about good and evil deeds. Children can be asked to serve the community by collecting rubbish from the local areas or by cleaning a community park as well whenever they commit any serious mistakes. These activities will not only provide them with the opportunity to learn their responsibilities towards the neighbourhood, but also they will be able to reflect their wrong-doing by themselves. Thus, the youth is likely to understand and apprehends the distinction between right and wrong by such direct and first-hand experience without having any conflicts with any family members and teachers.

To conclude, it is not recommended to penalise young children for their mistakes due to its harmful effects. Therefore, adopting the different techniques including some voluntary work will not only mend children behaviour but also will benefit our society.