Large businesses have big budgets for marketing and promotion and as a result, people gravitate towards buying their products.

What problems does this cause?

What could be done to encourage people to buy local products?

Today’s world is dominated by enterprises and big industries. Moreover, new companies are being inaugurated overnight which has drastically increased the competition among businesses. In order to stay ahead in the market and attract customers, a hefty amount of money is spent by manufacturers on advertisements, sales campaigns and promotions. This essay will delineate the side-effects of this trend and will put forward suggestions on how to uplift local made products.

One of the conspicuous problems is that it gives rise to inflation. Because of the monstrous money being spend on familiarizing their outputs, the cost of the product rises exponentially, making it exorbitant. Ultimately, it is the consumer who then compensates for these expenditures. This can be best illustrated by a live example of Lux enterprises, manufacturing beauty products. The most basic product of this company is a bathing soap which costs Rs. 25, whereas, the original manufacturing price is Rs. 2 only. This rise in price is attributed due to its heavy promotion on TV, magazines, and internet. In other terms, for a heavy promotional item, the consumer pays for the product’s manufacturing cost and its pump and show charges.

On the same grounds, local manufacturers struggle day and night to sell their products despite having admirable quality. One auspicious way to boost their sales is to implement inexpensive and effective marketing practices such as peddling, distributing free samples and word of mouth. This will not only gravitate the prices rather would appeal customers deeply. For example, Tupperware, an Indian plastic containers fabricator, marketed its yield following decent practices of door-to-door selling and providing complimentary gift items which kept its prices economical and reasonable. This proved as a value-add to the customers as they were able to afford super quality goods at cheaper prices.

To conclude, employing expensive marketing practices such as hiring celebrities for products promotion and satellite broadcasts is bound to inflate products cost and affect consumers pocket. In such scenarios, if local manufacturers grab these opportunities and hit the market with cheap promotional ways, then they are more likely to be appreciated by buyers, resulting in a win-win situation.