Life has become much more stressful compared to our parent’s generation. As a result, stress-related illnesses are increasing around the world. Why is stress such widespread in the modern world and what do you think can be done to overcome the problems caused by stress?

Over the decade, with the advent of technology, our day-to-day lives have become easier than before. However, it has also had an adverse impact on people’s stress levels resulting to health issues related to their mental and physical wellbeing. This essay will highlight the significant reasons for the common issue of stress in the majority of today’s population, and will also propose few possible measures to resolve these stress induced problems.

In recent times, it is observed that anxiety and other stress related issues have accelerated either at a small level with breathing problems, or at a much larger level with perpetual panic attacks. The predominant cause of this is connected to one’s work environment. In other words, with longer working hours and shorter deadlines, employees have lost their work life balance. These demands for delivery have, therefore, caused an increase in stress levels. The other serious reason for this widespread is related to the increasing usage of social media and the power it has given the users. People receive ample amount of comments on their posts, some are good and help boost their morale, whereas, the others are rather harsh and lead to stress for the creators whenever they log in to their social media channels.

There are some viable solutions which can be incorporated into the individual’s routine to help reduce the stress that is experienced nowadays. One way to overcome this problem, is to take frequent holidays away from the stress causing factors. Taking a break and going to a tourist friendly destination will take your mind off work and help induce relaxation. Another effective habit to develop for peace of mind is to reduce the usage of social media. If one curbs the amount of time they spend on mobile devices, they can use that time for more productive work such as exercise, which will help release endorphins that will eventually keep the individual happy and healthy.

To conclude, although there is an increase in stress levels among people these days due to their work or social media, there are simple methods such as taking a break from digital networking platforms or going on a holiday that will help them relax and improve their mental wellbeing.