In many countries, it is now illegal to smoke in public places. It is only fair that people who wish to smoke should have to leave the building. Do you agree or disagree?

Smoking publically is legally banned in most parts of the world. Awareness against the harmful effects of smoking has led to strict rules, where one may have to leave the premises in order to smoke a cigarette. I strongly agree that smoking is injurious to health, and people accustomed to such habits should only smoke in restricted smoking areas, for the safety of others health.

Firstly, smoking adversely affects one's health. It damages internal organs and can even lead to terminal illness such as cancer. Although smoking cigarettes is a personal choice, one involuntarily harms others around them. For instance, smoke produced from a lit cigar or a cigarette is equally harmful to those who inhale it even though they do not wish to smoke.

Secondly, the peculiar odor from the burning tobacco contaminates the air and makes breathing difficult for others around a smoker. Chain smokers often expose their children and other family members by choosing to smoke at home or in public areas. For example, youth often follows in the footstep of their parents and tend to take up smoking eventually.

Lastly, public awareness campaigns are successfully run to bring to the notice the ill-effects of smoking to individuals and their immediate surroundings. Various 'Quit Smoking' campaigns have been launched by popular brands as goodwill advertising. Helplines and rehab centers are set up to assist break smoking addiction. Substituted such as tobacco chewing-gums and electric cigarettes are made available to smokers to resist smoking.

In conclusion, I support the decision of prohibiting cigarette-smoking publically, as it poses danger to health and the environment. Violation of rules issued in the interest of the public safety should be taken very seriously. The government must levy high taxes on such harmful products. Commercial ads of cigarettes are banned in many countries and other such commodities should be largely discouraged.