In many countries, new houses are needed but the only space available for building them is in the countryside.

Some people believe it is more important to protect the countryside and not build new homes there.

What is your opinion about them?

The massive increase in the population has lead to a shortage of dwelling places in urban areas; however, vacant spaces for

the construction of homes are only available in the outskirts of cities. Some people assert that the protection of the countryside from urban utilization is quite essential. I strongly support the fact as this trend can decrease the agricultural trade and can cause also cause environmental degradation.

Primarily, the construction of homes and buildings in the countryside can cause detrimental effects on agricultural activities. In other words, with the consumption of agricultural land for building homes or industries, can lead to a high decrease in the rate of agro-produce, consequently, this can affect the export of wheat and rice to other states or countries. For example, in the recent study by the agricultural society of Punjab, 40% downfall in agriculture trade has been observed in the last ten years, following the growth of urbanization.

Secondly, the major areas in the countryside are sources of a clean and healthy environment as these areas are mostly covered with trees and plants. However, deforestation can be caused by the development of homes and buildings in rural areas which can further lead to environmental pollution. To exemplify, the construction of Vatika apartments in the countryside of Haryana has caused the destruction of 30% of the entire vegetation of the area.

In conclusion, it can be stated that to alleviate the problem of space for building homes, some scientific or technical schemes need to be followed such as the construction of the vertical architecture of buildings, instead of consuming the productive countryside lands. In the near future, the authorities will have to pass some stringent norms to curb the destruction of environment-friendly areas.