In many sports, there is an increase in the number of the athletes using banned substances to improve their performance. What

are the causes of the phenomenon and what are some of the possible solutions?

Undoubtedly, continuous utilisation of drugs among players in order to perform better has become the most complicated issues in sports world. although the possible cause behind the phenomenon is the paucity of stringent regulations, re-instating the ameliorated rules in the gaming zones is a plausible way to curb the menace.

Even though the terms and conditions are well-explained to the professional players, a small fraction of liberal supervision provide them an opportunity to consume illegal substances. Seemingly, sportspersons indulge theirselves in unsocial activities to have achievements because they are absolutaly aware regarding the lenient penalities. For instance, as per the article of International Cricket Fedration, any palyer who found gulity with charges of using performance-enhancing products are banned for only six months and after the completion re-join the team. Therefore, such punishments are accountable for audacious behavior.

On the other hand, imposing strict norms on professional athletes would be an impeccable measure to rectify the whole scenario. Reason behind this is that introduction of hefty fines and long periods of carceration would discourage the practice of narcotic products and it would be conductive to maintain the essence of sports. To exemplify, in bygone year Government of Japan enacted the legislations for sports where life time ban was declared for the consumption of offensive medications which reduced the rate of drug abuse. Moreover, authorities should ensures the applicability of dope test from time to time to avoid the future hassles.

In conclusion, there is no escape from the fact that nothing but the widespread implementation of non-negotiable rules in sports can only put a check over the emerging trend of using banned substances.