Most employers do job interviews before offering a position to a person. Do you think this is the best way to do it, or are there better alternatives? What is the best method of choosing employees in your opinion?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Hiring the right candidate is utmost important step of any company. Many firms believe that job interview is a systematic way to get a potential employee onboard. In my opinion, in an ever changing environment , sticking to one method is not advisable as different positions require various skill set that needs to be tested. This essay will discuss the advantages of a personal interview round along with a possible best method including relevant examples to support my points.

On the one hand, there is ample evidence that many firms for leadership positions, emphasize in conducting multiple rounds of interviews before offering the role. The central reason for this is, it gives the employers an opportunity to gauge the candidate in a better way. A personal interaction will allow the interviewers to study the body language and assess his performance when put under pressure. To illustrate this, an Oxford University research suggests that 60% of Fortune 500 organizations hire basing on how well they maneuver in interviews. Therefore it is conclusively clear that it is one of the best and widely used methods around.

Although there is a case for personal interaction assessment being effective, the necessity for the co-existence of other methods cannot be understated. Not all job levels need the same skill set. Different roles in organization seek different abilities. For example, a programmer who develops code cannot be gauged on his interpersonal skills alone as the core competency is coding and deploying of a program. Thus it is possible to state the recruitment process has to be dynamic in accordance with the open position with weightage being given appropriately to each step.

In conclusion, despite discussion with the candidate is a popular method across the globe due to its completeness, in my opinion for different roles, it has to be coupled with different assessment techniques for better results.