Most societies have homeless people. Some people think that the best way to help them is to give them money.

To what extent do you agree?

There are numerous societies in the world having people without shelter or food to eat. It is argued that providing them with hard cash is an ideal course of action. However, I have a full disagreement with the above viewpoint, because it has a negative impact on the working habits of such underprivileged people and it is also threatening to the socio-economic growth of any country.

On one hand, giving away money to homeless people out of concern will spoil their habits, fortunately. To explain this, if people like these start getting money without any effort or skill, as a result, they won’t be able to understand the value of having it. Moreover, rather than working or getting a job, they will rely on begging and living unofficially on footpaths. It is a popular belief that what you earn easily is not worth it. For instance, most developing countries are suffering from widespread begging on streets and as an outcome, few of them enforced a ban on such activity.

On the other hand, this thinking of people to give away money to homeless people for free has devastating effects on socio-economic growth for any nation around the globe. In addition, these inhabitants having thought of getting financial help for free rather than earning it directly affects the societal standards of any economy. Furthermore, it has a direct relation to the social progress index (SPI), which is the backbone of any nation in terms of social well being and quality of life.

To sum up, giving money to a needy could be a social cause. But all citizens must respect governmental laws and guidelines before taking any step out of such concern. The main reason for doing so is to help the nation in growing socially and this is the best option available to help these poor individuals to respect and earn money in a lawful manner.