Nowadays, the internet and television have given ordinary people a chance to become famous. Is this a positive or negative development?

It is surprising how ordinary people have become popular with the aid of television and social media. In my opinion, the shear benefits bring the positive outcomes to humanity as a whole, despite the minor misuse by some.

To begin with, the entertainment industry dominated by nepotism and who have money, the less privileged people do not get chance to expose their talent. Due to this reason, internet is blessing for those who are struggling for fame and showcase hidden talents. To illustrate, the teenagers and professionals who are master in their field such as cooking, makeup, software and any other skills want to expose to the public can make the videos and post on the You-tube channel. This in turn helps them to earn money and become star overnight by gaining popularity. Furthermore, television reality shows such as dance India dance and sare gama pa give chance to the skilled and struggling people.

On the other hand, some maniacs can exploit the media and get the fame by negative publicity. The published contents and views can influence many uneducated mentally ill people. For instance, media promotes bad hobbies and characteristics like pornography, terrorism, violence and scandals, it have lethal effect on youngsters and teenagers as they have not developed their own belief and opinion so they easily affected and follow their footsteps. In addition television produces reality programs about individual life to get high rating by cheap publicity.

To summarize, television and social media play incredible role to give platform to people with skills and talent. However they should scrutinize their content before publishing, posting and streaming.