Nowadays, many children are using cellphones and mobile phones. Many say it is good. Some say it is bad. What is your opinion?

Your task

While pollution of land and sea has many contributing factors, one of the main items causing pollution is plastic shopping bags. Now, people believe that banning of plastic might mitigate the problem, which in my opinion, can be very effective. However, I also believe that other measures can be taken before putting a complete ban in place.

Every year, around 300 million tons of plastics are dumped in the land and ocean. single use of plastic bottles, shopping bags, plates and straw cause death to thousands of marine animals and destruction to our corals. These plastics are non-biodegradable and require thousands of years to disintegrate into the soil destroying vegetation and marine life at mass. The only way to prevent the throw-away plastic, such as plastic bags from irreversibly damaging our planet is to prohibit the single use of plastic bags.

Before completely bringing a ban on them, the authority should try to change the consumer behavior by replacing the use of plastic bags with paper based bags or encourage to bring jute-bags from home. Imposing high price on plastic can also be another way to alternate the usage of plastic which will encourage the people to reuse them. Finally, recycling bins can be installed by which consumers can get cash back for depositing plastic bags will also help. Altering consumer behavior will generate awareness in the public as a whole and plummet the usage of plastic.

To conclude, banning of plastic bags might bring a significant change in controlling of land and water pollution. however, changing the consumer behavior as a whole will bring awareness about the harmful effects of using plastic apart from only plastic bags,thus help to secure our future from further damage.