Nowadays in many countries women have full time jobs. Therefore, it is logical to share household tasks evenly between men and women. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

With the tremendous influence of modernisation, both men and women, nowadays, have become professionally independent. A matter of considerable controversy at present is whether both the genders should share house-related work or women are supposed to manage everything like earlier times. I partly agree with the assertion that household duties should be segregated equally with some exceptions which are better managed by a specific sex.

Several tasks can be taken care of irrespective of gender. Cooking, for instance, managed in parallel by both partners minimises the time involved to prepare multiple dishes. Similarly, cleaning of a house could be equally distributed either by splitting the number of floors or rooms between both family members. Lastly, the washing of clothes and utensils could be assigned to anyone and completed while cooking, to wrap-up things in a short time. This trend is usually seen among a plethora of families, especially in developed countries, where the household work is a responsibility of both householders and not only women.

Conversely, specific tasks such as gardening, grocery or construction of the house are not suitable for everyone. Vegetation and grass removal, for instance, requires physical strength which is mostly preferred to be done by men. Contrarily, women are better in buying merchandise for children, selecting grocery items and maintaining the limit of expenses versus monthly budget. Furthermore, refurbishment of an apartment in any sense like a painting of walls, fixing of bathroom objects or furniture is handled by male members of the family. Undoubtedly, these things can be controlled by any gender but it is likely to make one of them accountable to avoid imbalance and fasten the process.

In conclusion, I fervently consider the approach of sharing household work as highly beneficial in most of the cases, with an understanding that some tasks with physical inclination or with proper awareness are more effective if assigned to a particular gender.