Overpopulation in many major urban centres around the world is a major problem. What are the causes of this? How can this problem be solved?

Urbanization has been a trend from long past. it is an increase in number of people living in towns and cities; creating there a problem of over population. Nowadays, around half of the world's public is residing in urban areas. this essay will examine the reasons why this is happening and provide solutions for the same.

A majority of individuals prefer to commute to urban centers because of various reasons. Firstly, the scope of better employment is rare in rural areas while there are greater job opportunities with satisfying salary packages in metropolitan cities which can help the workers to earn their livelihoods. For instance, all major industries are generally set-up within the cities, offering placements to people. Secondly, the rise in birth rate and decline rate is responsible for this problem. In urban areas, there are numerous medical facilities that can save lives of all age groups; decreasing the death rate of a particular region. Also, the lack of facilities like water and electricity supply, inferior infrastructure, sanitation, et cetera, is responsible for this migration. Thus, better career opportunities, inadequate facilities and unbalanced birth-death rates are responsible for proliferating among cities and towns.

Tackling this issue involves settlement of factories in rural areas as well in order to give employment to rural people and reduce their movement to urban areas. In addition, government should provide proper supply of water, electricity, sanitation, and other essential facilities that are required by people.

In conclusion, this essay discussed the reasons behind this problem and solutions that can be taken out in order to reduce it. In my opinion, until efforts are made, this problem will only escalate.