People attend colleges or universities for many different reasons (for example, new experiences, career preparation, increased knowledge etc.). Why do you think people attend colleges or uni-versities?

Higher education has become a top priority for many. With abundance of resources available at one place, many students apply to universities for numerous reasons. Earning a professional de-gree and to add new skills to armory alongside honing existing skills are two of popular reasons among many. This essay will discuss aforementioned reasons in detail with examples how a de-gree from a reputed institution aids in landing a dream job and a survey by Oxford University.

Securing a good paying job at a top multi national company is a dream, which could be fulfilled by earning a degree, is belief echoed by many aspirants. Having a formal education from an in-stitution provides an opportunity to learn concepts and also test the knowledge of a pupil. De-gree or Diploma earned from a college adds credibility to a candidate applying for a job at any firm. To illustrate this, top 25 Fortune companies visit only ivy league colleges to recruit stu-dents undermining the importance of degree from such institutions. Therefore it is conclusively clear that obtaining a degree or diploma is the foremost goal of attending college.

Furthermore, learning new skills is another motivation for some to apply for universities. Le-gion of education enthusiasts assembled at one place to teach and learn is a rare opportunity which many want to avail. It is assumed that many life defining skills such as , interpersonal skills, critical thinking and problem solving skill along with time management can be efficient-ly learned at a university by professionals. An Oxford study from a sample of 1000 professionals states that atleast one skill that enabled them to achieve their goals is learnt from college or university. Thus it is possible to state that to learn a new skill is the secondary reason for attend-ing colleges.

To recapitulate, beyond getting a solid education, earning a professional degree which aids in better employment oppurtunites and skills which benefit and shape a personality are some of the popular reasons to attend college