The rise of convenience foods has helped people keep up with the speed of the modern life style. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantage?

In this fast-paced world, cooking is considered a trivial task owing to which there has been a boom in the demand of packaged food. Although this kind of food has made the life of workaholics easy, its repercussions on health and the high cost incurred if bought regularly cannot be neglected due to which I firmly argue that its downsides outnumber the benefits.

To commence on the principle merit of consuming packed food, 21st century is of people who work for prolonged hours due to which they are left with no time to cook food. As a result, buying canned meals from supermarkets which can be prepared in just blink of an eye, is found to be most convenient method. The best example of this is Americans who highly rely on these meals as they prioritize their career over such a tedious task of preparing meals. Thus, these food items have become need of some.

Despite providing convenience, canned food is putting human health at stake. To elaborate, these meals are injected with preservatives in order to prevent it from being spoiled. The preservatives used are some sort of chemicals which can have deleterious impact on our body, making them prone multifarious diseases. To illustrate this fact, a research was published by WHO which clearly stated that there is no impact of antibiotics on humans due to development of chemical-resistance. Therefore, the day is not far when not even a single human being will be healthy.

Apart from this, another concern relates with the money as frozen meals cost hefty to the consumer if in taken regularly. In other words, these meals have the cost of packaging too which rises the actual price of meal. While, if the same kind of meal is prepared at home, the cost found would be comparatively less, thereby saving a huge money. In this regard, an article was published by a blogger and a chef by profession named Mr. Sanjeev Kapoor who stated that 60% of a person’s earning will be used for food if canned products gained popularity, hence, these foods are a pinch on the pocket.

To reiterate, it can be said that undoubtedly, working class is helpless as they are so occupied in their work that they are left with no other choice but detrimental impact on health along with being so expensive food cannot be kept aside.