Some businesses find that their new employees lack basic interpersonal skills such as cooperative skills. What are the causes? Suggest possible solutions.

The corporate sector agrees on the fact that newly hired workers are not so good at communication, decision making, and team working. They are either new in the professional field or need training and more exposure to the company. Hence, Organizations should not only invest in personal development workshops but also encourage newbies to participate in challenging business operations.

There could be numerous reasons of weak interpersonal skills of newcomers to the company. Firstly, they may lack enough experience which could develop several skills otherwise. No doubt, working in different organizations for a few years can polish soft and hard expertise likes leadership, presentation, conflict management and many more. Secondly, the new workers are not well aware of the corporate culture and business environment of the company. So, they find difficulty in communication. Consequently, the organizational operations which they are hired to operate would not be done with perfection. For instance, the marketing department of LG Mobiles suffered a lot due to the lack of professional skills among workers and faced a sales shortfall in 2006.

However, there are several steps that companies like LG can take to build a proper and trained workforce. They should arrange monthly training and free of cost workshops, where practical activities would be scheduled. This will develop their confidence and self-esteem. Moreover, top management should never discourage newly employed workers by insulting them in front of other team members. This would stop them to participate in such activities which are challenging for their skill sets.

In the nutshell, professional and individual development along with the better attitude of organizational administration can polish the soft skills of new employees which would ultimately lead the company towards a positive direction.