In some countries, children under 16 are not allowed to leave school by law and get full-time work.

Is this a good or bad thing?

Learning at school is an important part of student life which cannot be ignored. Some countries have laws which prohibit children from leaving the school before the age of 16 as well as they cannot engage in full-time work before attaining that certain age. In my view, these types of regulations are need of the time as they will discourage the trend of leaving school before completing high school education.

For the development of a country education system plays an important part. For example, the most developed countries have a robust education system and they make sure that literacy rates remain high.

Knowledge and growth go hand in hand if the performance in education sectors lacks it will ultimately impact growth. Therefore, the development is proportional to education and compulsory education is the need of the time.

To make sure that all complete high school, the fulltime work for teenagers should be prohibited. Because it will discourage them from getting a full-time job at a certain age. Moreover, if they continue their study and get a degree, the chances will be higher for them to get a decent job. Furthermore, skilled people in the home country will reduce the countries dependence on foreign skilled labour. For instance, Arab countries like the UAE depend on Indian Information technology experts to run their telecom industry as they have a shortage of skilled workers.

To sum up, mandatory education is the need of time as illiterate youth is a liability while the educated population is a potential which can be utilized to create a strong nation.