Some experts believe that is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school.

Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Choosing a suitable age for learning a foreign language is often regarded as a controversial issue. Some prefer primary school as a right platform, whereas others argue that teaching a new language at secondary school will benefit children more. However, in my perspective, studying a different language at a younger age will have more positive impacts than negative.

To begin with, some experts hold the view that introducing a whole new language to children in primary school can be proved as a barrier to learn their native language thoroughly as young pupils can get confused by two different grammar and pronunciation at the same time. Additionally, the learning of a foreign language will be an added pressure on the tender minds of little learners and will deprive them of the fun time. However, studies have proved that young children are often very excited and are free of any social stress, so they usually learn a new language with full excitement and fun. Moreover, it is seen that children mostly converse at home in their language with their family members and do not use the other one, so there are rare chances for them to juggle between two languages. For instance, From my personal experience, we were introduced to English at the age of six as a subject in the school, and it was never a hurdle to learn my mother tongue. On the contrary, it provided the opportunity to make a difference between the two.

Furthermore, it is observed that secondary school students are more self-aware and self-conscious, so they tend to avoid mistake intentionally. Nevertheless, young learners are usually free of these emotions, so they learn the language without any fear of getting embarrassed and almost sounded like a native speaker of the language by the time they reach

secondary school. In addition to this, knowing another language provide them with the opportunity to broaden their horizons and improve their social skills when dealing with foreign people. Again, with a talent of speaking a different language expertly give them ample of chances to study in a different country and help them in settling their careers. Also, Kids can enjoy other spheres of life if they already know a different language. For example, with the quality of speaking English, Chinese kids can watch different English tv programmes, can enjoy Hollywood movies and on the top of it, will be able to play games that come with English instructions only.

Finally, It is clear that learning a different language at a very early age can open many opportunities to children later in the life. It is also said 'the sooner, the better'. So in the world of technology with massive competition, it is imperative to acquire the skill of speaking different languages. Children can learn these languages in their early years of school as their minds act like a blank canvas where anything can be painted. So it is more advantageous to learn a different language in earlier years of schooling.