Some people believe that children are given too much free time. They feel that this time should be used to do more school work.

How do you think children should spend their free time?

It is said that today’s children have an excessive amount of spare time. Many aver that this time ought to be devoted to studying. The author disagrees with this prospect and below the reasons on which the stance is based will be discussed in details.

To begin with, contemporary offspring has a plethora of free time. In fact, youngsters do not work because children labor is strictly prohibited by the law. Moreover, many parents do not ask their kids to do any housework and the volume of hours that they can spend at school studying is limited as well. Consequently, an average kid has about twelve hours of free time on weekdays and even more on weekends.

However, many state that this free time should not be wasted. Firstly, they point out that the volume of information and knowledge that the young people must absorb while studying at school keeps growing; and not including this data in a curriculum would hurt their prospects in the future. Secondly, there are formative years from two to fifteen when human brain is being formed and studying has a beneficial impact on the process. In other words, devoting more children’s time to education is quite reasonable.

At the same time, it is crucial to remember that formative years are essential not only for learning how to read and count but for acquiring knowledge how to interact with others. In fact, an ability to convey one’s thoughts effectively, to make friends are very important in modern society and those skills are not taught on school lessons, they are gotten playing, chatting and interacting with other people outside school walls. Thus, spending free time on those activities is a necessity as well.

To sum up, nowadays children have a huge amount of leisure time. It seems that this time should be used wisely and be spent on doing school work and on forging social skills.