Some people believe that children's leisure activities must be educational, otherwise they are a complete waste of time

Proper utilization of a child’s leisure time unarguably has huge impact in shaping his future. It is proposed that if a child is indulged in any activity other than educational, is entirely futile. I disagree with this notion. I believe that such approach is deleterious for comprehensive growth of a child and is detrimental for both physical as well as his intellectual growth. This essay shall discus the demerits of such unidirectional approach.

Indulging in only educational activities will restrict a child’s physical growth. It has been evidentially proven that a child, who participate in sports activities or any physical activity are 70% more healthier and are resistant to various diseases. As physical activity increases cellular and nervous regeneration and increases blood supply to brain as well as other organs, thus making him physically fitter both to handle any physical and mental stress. Study conducted by Harvard University concluded that a child indulged in sports have more propensity to grow into a healthier and brainier adult.

In addition to physical activities, participation in arts, music and crafts are essential part of more holistic approach in upbringing of an offspring. Trying hand at arts, craft or listening to music speeds up the cognitive development of brain centers. It is a common belief that if a child spends more of his tome on educative projects, it will further sharpen his intelligence. Paradoxically, both parents and society are suppressing the intellect of a child rather than help it to flourish. It has been repeatedly proven that for a multifaceted growth of a child, he needs exposure to not only educative projects but to other activities too such as sports, arts and craft.

To sum up with, society and parents push to a child to take part in only educative activities are hampering the development of a child, both physical as well as psychological. a rather more holistic approach should be adopted in upbringing of one’s offspring