Some people believe governments should spend money on building train and subway lines to reduce traffic congestion. Others think that building more and wider roads is a better way to reduce traffic congestion. Discuss both view and give your opinion.

People have distinctive perspectives about whether the government should spend more money on building more and wider roads or constructing train and subway networks. While improving road systems could be beneficial to some extent, I would argue that it is better to invest more in train and subway networks.

On the one hand, there are several reasons why building more and wider roads could alleviate traffic jams. First, since the existing roads in some major cities have insufficient capacity to cope with the rapid increase in the number of cars, authorities need to broaden these roads so as to allow vehicles to move more easily. For example, by widening main roads, the capital of Vietnam, Hanoi, can lessen inner-city traffic congestion which used to be extremely serious during rush hours. Second, building a new road provides citizens alternative ways to reach their destinations. This will reduce traffic pressure on main roads where traffic jams often take place.

On the other hand, I believe that the construction of public transport including rail and subway lines could be a more effective and sustainable method. It is apparent that many people will be encouraged to use public transport because the speed of trains or the subway is usually way faster than private vehicles. This ultimately restrains the growth of private vehicles on the roads which is the main cause of traffic congestion. Additionally, as many cities do not have enough land to build new roads or broadening roads, underground subway networks are the best available option. This means of transport can carry a huge number of passengers without occupying much land.

In conclusion, building more roads and wider roads might have some advantages, I do believe that train and subway systems are the best method to tackle traffic congestion, especially in the cities where lack land to improve road systems.