Some people say all levels of education, from primary schools to universities, too much time is spent on learning facts and not enough on learning practical skills.

Do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons, include relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

At least 250 words.

Education system around the world is constantly changing. A majority of people opine that a large portion of a student's academic year is spent on studying factual information rather than developing other practical abilities. I agree to this school of thought that more time needs to be allotted to practical learning methods.

In this essay, I would like to discuss the benefits of first-hand practical education.

Well-Equipped educational institutions have the resources to support demonstrations and carry out practical activities. This encourages students to raise doubts and have a better understanding of their syllabus. Schools and colleges that lack basic infrastructure are deprived of practical knowledge. A classic example is of the schools in rural areas, they do not have libraries, science laboratories and nor do they have any supporting apparatus to carry out experiments.

Moreover, qualified and experienced faculty play an important role in guiding and mentoring the formative years of a student. This could result in boosting a child's ability and recognizing their talents. For examples, schools that offer professional coaching in sports, are known to prepare future sportspersons. Some pupils are encouraged to participate in competitions so that they are able to polish their personal skills further.

Furthermore, parents tend to pressurize their children toward higher academic scores in order to have a secured future. Extracurricular activities are looked upon as a distraction. A child must focus on his personal strengths and pave a way towards new career opportunities which could be more rewarding to them. For instance, an individual who is good at dancing could choose to be a choreographer.

In my view, pupils at all educational levels must be taught the application of their theoretical knowledge. Textual information is important but the first-hand experience is necessary. Youngsters seek life lessons and inculcate habits and hobbies that have a lasting impact on building innate abilities and polishing other aspects of their personalities.

Educational institutions must strive to strike the correct balance between practical and theoretical knowledge. Longer hours should be spent on practical methods and creative techniques to ensure effective learning.