Some people say that it is possible to tell a lot about a person’s culture and character from their choice of clothes.

Do you agree or disagree?

It is believed by some people that the a person's selection of dresses can give much information about their culture and character. However, not everyone agrees with this idea.

While it is possible to tell about a person's culture up to some extent from their attire, it is hard to judge one's character solely on that basis. For example, a if a person is wearing a Tradition Asian dress, it can be suggested that the person belongs to the Asian culture but making an assessment on his personality with the same yardstick is not only subjective but also immature. Similarly, it is also not always possible to predict someone's culture on the choice of his dressing style. For instance, if a British person participating in Chinese festival occasionally decides to wear a Chinese festival dress, it would be wrong to associate that person with Chinese culture.

The person's dressing habit does not provide any information about their personal traits, judging someone's character by their choice of clothing would be same as judging a book by its cover. It cannot be argued that the person possesses a good character just because of their nice dressing style because we can see large number of examples from our daily lives where not everyone wearing nice, expensive and branded dresses portrays a high standard of character. Take Harvey Win-stein for example who wears expensive dresses and enjoyed luxurious lifestyles due to his highly influential position in Hollywood actually turned out to be a person with bad character who is now facing lot of sexual harassment charges against him. Likewise, it cannot be opinionated that people having simple dressing style definitely always have good moral values and character.

In conclusion, the dressing style can sometime give a true picture about someone's culture but cannot be cannot be used on a large scale to correctly reflect person's cultural and personal values.